GLOBE Community Awards Winners

GLOBE Community Award 2021 Winners


The GLOBE Community Awards 2021 were presented on Friday 11 February 2022 at a gala celebration at the stunning Plaza Ballroom in Collins Street Melbourne. The event was also livestreamed, enabling those who couldn’t make it to the event in person to tune in and watch the Awards online via JOY 94.9’s YouTube channel.

The glamorous black tie event was attended by over 250 guests from Victoria’s diverse LGBTIQ community – including Victorian Commissioner for LGBTIQ+ Communities, Todd Fernando, who presented the award for LGBTIQ Person of the Year on behalf of the event’s principal presenting partner, the Victorian Government.

Guests enjoyed a three-course meal, drinks and a great night of entertainment MC’d by JOY 94.9 Breakfast show hosts, Anna Murphy and Dean Murphy. In between awards presentations guests were treated to a star-studded lineup of entertainment, with performances by some of Victoria’s brightest stars including the fabulous Dolly Diamond, singer-songwriter Hayley Teal, award-winning comedian Cassie Workman, and Australia’s most successful First Nations male pop artist, Isaiah Firebrace.

Speaking at the Awards ceremony, GLOBE President, Megan Williams said, “The GLOBE Community Awards celebrate all the fantastic work that is happening in our community. I am so inspired by these amazing people and organisations who work so hard to uplift our communities.”

“Today, more than ever, our collective community needs your talent, your passion and your perseverance and I want you to know that we love your work. Our communities are stronger, better and kinder because of your contributions,” she said.

This year’s inspiring winners were drawn from an impressive group of finalists, selected from nominations submitted by the community. The full list of winners of GLOBE Community Awards presented for 2021 are:

LGBTIQ Person of the Year: Jude Munro AO (Chair of the Board Victorian Planning Authority and Uniting Vic.Tas)

Community Inspiration Award: Brave Network and Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity Change Efforts (SOGICE) Survivors

LGBTIQ Volunteer of the Year: Abdurahman Katamish

LGBTIQ Rural and Regional Champion: Allison Winters (LINE Wangaratta)

Outstanding Advocacy of the Year: Victorian Conversion Campaign Coalition

LGBTIQ Artist of the Year: LaNCE TV

Ally of the Year: Dr Ada Cheung (Trans Health Research, University of Melbourne)

Transgender Inclusion Award: Trans and Gender Diverse Bendigo and Beyond

Improving Health and Wellbeing for LGBTIQ Peoples: ADMIN Group (Thorne Harbour)

Preventing Social Isolation in LGBTIQ Communities: Thorne Harbour Health Events

Excellence in LGBTIQ Small Business and Enterprise: Piano Bar

Outstanding LGBTIQ Media Reporting: The Bent Spoon